Hobo Radio Interview – Naked and Afraid star Rylie Parlett

Discovery’s Naked and Afraid is a reality show that drops two survivalists – one man and one woman – into a remote location, strips them of their clothes and leaves them to fend for themselves for 21 days. It’s a brutal, intense undertaking that pushes the competitors to their physical and mental limits.

So, when Joel Murphy discovered his longtime friend Rylie Parlett was featured on the episode “Trouble in Paradise,” which aired June 10, he reached out to her to hear about her experience. In this in-depth chat, she talks about her decision to do the show, what it was like being on it and what her life has been like since the episode aired.

This week’s music:

  • Intro – “Giddy Up” by Tahuna Breaks
  • Interstitial – “Vishnu Meets Funk” and “Ancient Ritual” by Lucas Perný & Miloslav Kollar
  • End – “Beautiful Day” by Mindseye

To listen to more interviews, click here:


Hobo Radio is part of the Peak Sloth Podcast Network. Hear more shows at PeakSloth.com.

Hobo Radio 270 – Joel Murphy, reality TV star

Earlier this week, Joel Murphy posted photos and a feature article about the 14th annual Baltimore Comic-Con, which was held this past weekend. But what he didn’t talk about in that article was how he ended up in the background of a segment being shot for the new season of Comic Book Men, which featured Kevin Smith and Jason Mewes interacting with the guys from the show. On this week’s podcast, he shares that story (and gives some insight into all of the careful planning that goes into filming “reality” TV).

Murphy and Lars also share the story of a vigilante movie reviewer who called the police to stop a man from using his phone in a theater. And, they tell the most adorable and sexy story ever involving Batman, a cat and a burning building.

How real is reality TV? How do Canadian police sirens sound? How underwhelming is Joel’s sexy voice? The answers to these questions and more are in this week’s podcast.

This week’s music:

  • Intro – “Giddy Up” by Tahuna Breaks
  • Interstitial – “The Porn King” by The Funky Filter
  • End – “Four Chords and Several Beers Ago” by Bo Renaud